Home / State / Sowmya Reddy wins Jayanagar for Congress

Sowmya Reddy wins Jayanagar for Congress

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Breaking into a constituency that has been a BJP stronghold for the past decade, Congress candidate Sowmya Reddy won from Jayanagar constituency by securing 54,458 votes. She is the daughter of senior Congress leader Ramalinga Reddy, who served as the Home Minister in Siddaramaiah’s cabinet.

Albeit, it was a close tie till the end. Sowmya Reddy won with a mere margin of 2,887 votes against BJP candidate B.N. Prahlad, brother of BJP leader B.N. Vijaya Kumar, who passed away in May this year. Mr Prahlad secured 51,571 votes.

Congress supporters began celebrations early on Wednesday morning when a clear trend of her victory began to emerge. A huge number of supporters gathered outside SSMRV college in Jayanagar 4T block, where the counting was held.

Congress has gained back the constituency after losing for two successive terms. Prior to 2008, Congress leader Ramalinga Reddy won from this constituency for four consecutive terms.

Independent candidate Ravi Krishna Reddy, a well known anti-corruption activist, was in for disappointment as he was able to garner only 1,861 votes. As many as 848 voters preferred NOTA.

The election to Jayanagar constituency was held on June 11, after it was countermanded in the wake of Mr Vijaya Kumar’s demise. Out of the 2.03 lakh voters here, 1,11,689 voters (55 per cent) cast their votes.

This brings the total tally of Congress to 79 seats in the Karnataka Assembly. While the Congress had initially won 78 seats and later secured victory in RR Nagar constituency (the elections for which was held on May 28), there was a setback by one seat, owing to the demise of Jamkhandi MLA Siddu Nyamagouda in an accident. This constituency is now headed for bylelection.

At present, the Karnataka Assembly has 104 BJP seats, 36 JD (S), one BSP, in addition to two independent candidates. After JD(S) leader HD Kumaraswamy took oath as the Chief Minister from Channapatna, Ramanagar constituency (the other constituency from where he contested and won) is also headed for bypolls.

Source: The Hindu


Check Also

IT department seizes Rs 2.3 crore from spare tyre of car heading to Shivamogga, Bhadravati

With the Lok Sabha 2019 elections underway, the Income Tax (IT) department ...