Home / Sports / Sri Lankan cricket team gets its 7th captain in 3 months

Sri Lankan cricket team gets its 7th captain in 3 months

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Amidst players’ fall-out, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has named Thisara Perera as Twenty20 International (T20I) skipper for series against Pakistan. Perera will lead Sri Lanka in a three-T20I series against Pakistan, which will see them travel to Lahore for the third and final game.

Regular skipper Upul Tharanga stepped aside from making this trip just last week. According to Cricbuzz, SLC President Thilanga Sumathipala has said that the team has been selected for all three-T20Is. Perera had a successful trip with the World XI side last month to Pakistan.

From the ODI squad only six players make the cut. Danushka Gunathilaka has been recalled after his suspension was cut short. Dasun Shanaka has been flown in from the Caribbean, who is with the A team.

The first-two T20Is will take place in Abu Dhabi, followed by the final match at Lahore on October 29.

Sri Lanka T20I squad: Thisara Perera (Captain), Dilshan Munaweera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Ashan Priyanjan, Mahela Udawatte, Dasun Shanaka, Sachith Pathirana, Vikum Sanjaya, Lahiru Gamage, Seekkuge Prasanna, Vishwa Fernando, Isuru Udana, Jeffrey Vandersay and Chathuranga de Silva


Check Also

Reports: Mohammed Shami to be included in the central contract list

After all the negativity that surrounds the life of India pacer Mohammed ...