Home / Bhatkal News / BJP announces second list of candidates for Karnataka elections; Sunil Naik to contest from Bhatkal

BJP announces second list of candidates for Karnataka elections; Sunil Naik to contest from Bhatkal

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Bhatkal 16 April 2018 (Bhatkallys News Bureau): Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday April 16 announced its second list of candidates for the upcoming Karnataka assembly elections. Sunil Naik who was battling it out with JD Naik for the party ticket finally secured the ticket from Bhatkal-Honnavar constituency.

On April 8, the BJP had announced the first list of 72 candidates who will contest the high stakes Karnataka assembly polls.

Yesterday, the BJP’s central election committee, which comprises Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party chief Amit Shah, had met in the national capital to finalize the second list of party’s candidates.

With former Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yeddiyurappa being the party’s chief ministerial candidate, the saffron party is aiming for 150 seats out of 224 in Karnataka, the last major state being ruled by Congress with absolute majority.

Congress party on Sunday April 15, also announced first list of candidates for 218 seats wherein sitting MLA of Bhatkal Mankal Vaidya was declared Congress candidate from Bhatkal-Honnavar constituency.

Other candidates of BJP from constituencies of Uttara Kannada district include Rupali Naik (Karwar), Vishweshwar Hegde Kageri (Sirsi), Sunil Hegde (Haliyal), VS Patil (Yellapur).

Kumta remains as the only seat from Uttara Kannada District where the candidate is yet to be announced by BJP. However as per the sources of Bhatkallys.com Yashodhar Naik is most likely to get the party ticket from Kumta while Dinkar Shetty, Suraj Naik Soni and Subrayya Walke also trying their luck with party high command.

Chief Ministerial candidate BS Yeddiyurappa will contest the election from his home constituency Shikaripur while Eshwarappa will contest the election from Shivmoga constituency.

Karnataka will go into polls on May 12 while the counting of votes will be held on May 15, the state is beefed up with security forces in the backdrop of elections with election commission keeping a stern watch on all the activities in the state.

(Bhatkallys News Bureau/ Ismail Zaorez)


Check Also

Bhatkal: Auto-driver who sustained injuries in a accident last week, succumbs to his injury in Manipal

Bhatkal 20 November 2018: (Bhatkallys News Bureau) The auto driver who sustained ...